Perenara wins Try of the Year

By International Rugby Players

New Zealand’s TJ Perenara has claimed the International Rugby Players Try of the Year for 2019. 

The All Blacks halfback was awarded the prize for his score in the victory over Namibia during the pool stages of Rugby World Cup 2019. 

Perenara emerged victorious ahead of four other scintillating efforts by Italy’s Sergio Parisse, France’s Charles Ollivon and South Africa’s Cobus Reinach. 

The panel that reviewed international tries across 2019 was made up of International Rugby Players’ Conrad Smith (host) as well as former internationals Bryan Habana,  Fiao’o Faumusili, Jamie Heaslip and Thierry Dusautoir.


2018 – Brodie Retallick (New Zealand) – New Zealand v Australia
2017 – Joaquín Tuculet (Argentina) – Argentina v England
2016 – Jamie Heaslip (Ireland) – Ireland v Italy
2015 – Julian Savea (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France
2014 – Francois Hougaard (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2013 – Beauden Barrett (New Zealand) – New Zealand v France
2012 – Bryan Habana (South Africa) – South Africa v New Zealand
2011 – Radike Samo (Australia) – Australia v New Zealand
2010 – Chris Ashton (England) – England v Australia
2009 – Jaque Fourie (South Africa) – South Africa v British and Irish Lions
2008 – Brian O’Driscoll (Ireland) – Australia v Ireland
2007 – Takudzwa Ngwenya (USA) – South Africa v U

International Rugby Players

/ Contributor

Join the Conversation

Enter your email address and be the first to know about our news and events around the world.