Try of the Year nominees announced

By International Rugby Players

The contenders for the International Rugby Players Try of the Year 2018 have been revealed, with the winner to be announced at the World Rugby Awards in Monte Carlo on 25 November.

Two of the tries shortlisted began with turnovers deep in their team’s own half with New Zealand second-row Brodie Retallick and fly-half Beauden Barrett the finishers, with the others scored by Ireland number eight CJ Stander and Scotland winger Sean Maitland.

Barrett, the 2016 and 2017 World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year, is bidding to become the first player to win the Try of the Year award twice after receiving it in 2013 for his try against France.

The four tries were selected by the International Rug by Players Try of the Year panel: New Zealand’s Melodie Robinson, Ireland’s Ronan O’Gara, Italy’s Marco Bortolami and Wales’ Shane Williams. This new-look panel will select the winner of the 2018 award.





With 12 minutes to go at Eden Park in the second Bledisloe Cup test, Brodie Retallick stripped Australia prop Tom Robertson in the New Zealand 22 and quickly offloaded to TJ Perenara. The scrum-half found Damian McKenzie and the replacement set off on the counter-attack, beating two defenders in a 30-metre burst before offloading to Anton Lienert-Brown on his outside. Lienert-Brown took it over halfway before releasing Ben Smith, who had Beauden Barrett on his outside, the fly-half stepping inside Marika Koroibete and then diving over to score his fourth try in the match, minutes after having another try ruled out.



A lofted pass from Finn Russell took out England pair Jonathan Joseph and Jonny May, giving centre Huw Jones the space to run from one 22 to the other at Murrayfield in the Calcutta Cup match. Although hauled down by May, his team-mates were quickly in support to recycle the ball and keep the English defence scrambling as Scotland went left with Russell throwing another lofted pass to create the room for winger Maitland to dive over in the corner to the delight of the home crowd.



This free-flowing try started and finished with the All Blacks second-row. Retallick was quickly through on Australia scrum-half Will Genia in the first match of the Rugby Championship in Sydney, turning over the ball and offloading to Damian McKenzie to launch the counter-attack. Beauden Barrett and Ben Smith helped take play into the Australian half before the All Blacks recycled and swung the ball from right to left, the fly-half finding Retallick who sold Bernard Foley with an outrageous dummy and ran in from nearly 30 metres.



Playing with an advantage after Maro Itoje took out Peter O’Mahony at a lineout in England’s half midway through the first half, Ireland chanced their arm with Conor Murray finding Johnny Sexton, who had Tadhg Furlong in support. The prop was able to spin and pass to Bundee Aki, the centre bursting through into the 22 before finding CJ Stander on his inside. The number eight still had work to do and was hauled down short by Richard Wigglesworth and James Haskell, but his momentum took him forward and he was able to ground the ball against the base of the post for the try.

International Rugby Players

/ Contributor

Join the Conversation

Enter your email address and be the first to know about our news and events around the world.